December Focus: Urbane Publications

urbane_publications_logo

I like to do something a little different on my blog in December. I am not a fan of the modern day Christmas with its emphasis on big parties and conspicuous consumption but with all the presents being exchanged by more festive minded friends I am eager to spread the word about good reads. I suspect I am preaching to the converted when I point out that books make the ideal gift.

I am always keen to ensure that readers know of the existence of the fabulous independent publishers for whom I have a particular fondness. Last December I read only releases from these small presses. I also started a series of interviews with those publishers who wished to take part which continued well into the New Year. There is a menu option available above if you wish to check some of these out. I would like this series to be ongoing so if you are a publisher and would like to be involved do let me know.

This year, in the run up to Christmas, I am going to focus on just one of these independent publishers – Urbane Publications. Starting next week I will be posting reviews of a small selection of their more recent releases alongside interviews with the books’ authors and the occasional guest post. We will kick off on Sunday with an update on the company from its founder, Matthew Smith.

I hope that you will enjoy this series and consider buying some of Urbane’s books. They publish an eclectic mix so their list is bound to contain something you or those you buy for will enjoy. As a bonus I will be offering one lucky reader a chance to win their choice of book from those featured. I will post details of how to enter this giveaway at the conclusion of the series, in the week leading up to Christmas.

I am grateful to each of the Urbane contributors for their willingness to jump on board with such enthusiasm. The content they have provided will, I hope, be of as much interest to you as it has been to me.

Urbane Publications – Ordinary words made extraordinary

Urbane-Publications-logo

2 comments on “December Focus: Urbane Publications

  1. What a great thing to do in December! Look forward to reading more.

  2. tripfiction says:

    Love many of the Urbane titles, so it will be fab that more people get to see the variety of books they publish!!

Leave a Reply

